Baked “Ziti” and Turkey Meatballs 

Guys I am SO sorry for my long hiatus. My loving boyfriend got me a squarespace website for my birthday (last year) and I am not tech savvy enough for that. So I am back at WordPress and couldn’t be happier. 
So if you are new to LawBooksAndCooks allow me to introduce you to my style of cooking, healthy comfort food with LOTS of Flavor. I use a lot of spices and herbs because #SpiceUpYourLife! I guess the Spice Girls got to me while I was young. Some of the recipes I post are my own spin on something I’ve seen on another blog or in a magazine so I’ll try to give credit when and where credit is due. Please #LawBooksAndCooks on instagram and contact me if you need any further instructions!!

This baked “ziti” serves 5-6 and the meatballs make around 65 Meatballs, technically 4 Meatballs is a serving… but I ate 6 and I’m not telling 🙈

Baked “Ziti”

  1. 1 bag frozen cauliflower 
  2. 2 tbsp EVOO (olive oil)
  3. 1 tbsp Italian seasoning 
  4. 2 cups homemade tomato sauce (if you don’t make your own just cut up one onion, sautee it until soft in some olive oil, add in some minced garlic and pour two cans of crushed tomato on it (your welcome!) s+p 
  5. Half a box whole grain ziti (or whatever pasta you like)
  6. One can tomato sauce 
  7. S+P to taste 
  8. 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese 
  9. 1/2 ricotta cheese 
  10. 2 cups baby spinach (raw) 

Instructions 

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees
  2. Place Dutch oven on medium high heat and warm olive oil. Once shimmering add the bag of frozen cauliflower (you can absolutely use fresh instead substitute one head) and give it a little toss 
  3. Pour both sauces on top and stir to combine adding in your salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. 
  4. Bring this to a boil 
  5. Now add in your pasta to soak up all this extra liquid. Cover the pot and lower to a simmer 
  6. Don’t touch for 15 minutes
  7. Take the lid off and give it a stir. If your pasta is cooked then stir in the spinach and now it’s time to say cheese 🧀🧀🧀
  8. I used a cookie scoop but a tablespoon will work too. I just randomly added balls of ricotta cheese and mixed gently so it would be like the layers of ricotta you find in baked ziti YUM
  9. Sprinkle with the Motzarella and pop this baby in the oven for 30 minutes
  10. Serve hot! Preferably with these yummy meatballs


Turkey Meatballs

Trust me, if you let these babies simmer in homemade tomato sauce long enough you’ll forget they are healthy. For this recipe I serve them naked. But trust me, if you have longer just let them summer in sauce for an hour plus and add some cheese. DELICIOUS!!!

Ingredients 

  1. 48 ounces ground turkey 
  2. 2 cloves garlic minced
  3. 1 and 1/2 diced red onion 
  4. 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
  5. 1/2 tsp salt
  6. 1/2 tsp pepper
  7. 1/2 cup milk (any type)
  8. 1 cup breadcrumbs 
  9. 1/3 cup parsley chopped 
  10. 3 tbsp Parmesan cheese 
  11. 2 tbsp olive oil 

 Instructions

  1. Place breadcrumbs and milk together in a bowl and stir, let rest for 10 minutes
  2. Warm your olive oil in a pan and add the onions stirring, on medium heat, until soft (about 6 minutes) add garlic at about 5 minutes
  3. Remove onions and garlic from heat and add to bowl of a stand mixer (I LOVE my kitchen aid, if you don’t have one wash your hands and get dirty with a bowl) 
  4. Combine all ingredients together and mix until well incorporated 
  5. Cover and refrigerate for an hour (don’t skip this step guys because turkey isn’t as strong as the regular ground Hamburg and it will fall apart) 
  6. Preheat the oven to 425
  7. Using wet hands (I used a cookie scoop) place 65(ish) meatballs onto an oiled cookie sheet (or two)
  8. Bake for 20 minutes 
  9. Serve hot! 



Leave a Reply

