Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cupcakes

Originally published December 29, 2015.

It’s my boyfriend’s birthday so I started to think of ways I could get creative. I came up with the idea of chocolate covered strawberry cupcakes. I checked Pinterest for ideas and every recipe I came across either was too complicated, used boxed cake, was too heavy, or was too simple for my taste. So I combined my favorite aspects and this cupcake was born.

I don’t bake a ton; my strengths lie on the stove and not in the oven but I do get excited to try new things on special occasions.

First, The chocolate cupcake itself:

  • 1.5 sticks of butter softened to room temperature
  • 1.5 cups of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 cups gluten free flour (Plain baking flour, I didn’t play around with other combinations)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1.5 cups buttermilk
  • 1 tsp fruit vinegar (I used pomegranate)
  • 2 tsp vanilla (I am always generous with my vanilla when baking)
  • 1 bar Ghirardelli melting chocolate (any will do, this is just what I like)
cupcakes2
Butter sugar mixture

First, I love my Kitchenaid and don’t know what I would do without it. I started by mixing the butter and sugar (I used Turbando because I love it and it’s a bit cleaner). Mix for 2-4 minutes until its light. If you are using the Turbando sugar, it doesn’t really get fluffy until you add the eggs. Add in the eggs one at a time until fluffy. Add in vanilla.

Next, add cocoa powder to flour, salt, and baking soda. Whisk these ingredients well. It is not necessary to sift them.

Now, measure out your buttermilk and add a teaspoon or so of fruit vinegar, I used pomegranate. The acidity helps get the party going and makes for a truly delicious cupcake.

Slowly, mix in the dry ingredients on slow to the sugar, butter, egg mixture. Once combined slowly add buttermilk mixture until mixture looks like the picture.

cupcakes3
Spray your cupcake holders! I use coconut oil, it’s great!

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Let these babies cool completely before frosting.

Now, the frosting. The best part (in my opinion)

  • 1 cup strawberry cream cheese (plain will work fine if it’s what you have)
  • 2 tbsp butter milk
  • 4-5 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 sticks of butter.
  • 2 tbsp berry preserves

cupcakes4

First, whip the butter and cream cheese until light. Add in the buttermilk and slowly add the powdered sugar while your Kitchenaid combines. Keep tasting until you have the consistency you like. Finally add in 2 tbsp berry jam/preserves, whatever you have on hand. I used natural raspberry preserves. They really bring out the flavor and add more color.

Finally, this step is optional but melt your bar of chocolate (I microwaved mine for one minute stirring half way through. I added coconut oil (1 tsp) to make this easier.) then dip fresh strawberries in the chocolate and top your cupcakes with it.

Let cool and enjoy. Happy Birthday Chris!

Leave a Reply

